​The topography of Bormla (Città Cospicua) stretches over five conspicuous hills known as Ta’ Pazan, Ta' Santa Margerita, Tal-Ġonna, Ta’ Ġerman and Ta’ Kordin, while the lower reaches of valleys are flooded by sea forming the French, Dockyard and Kalkara Creeks. The etymology of Bormla may be derived from the word ‘Bir Mula’, which means ‘the well of the Lord’.